Month: April 2008

  • The real reason I’m terrified of Chris Choi…

    bunny

    By Chris Choi. 

    And now you know why he scares me.  O_O 

    [edit: I had the following IM conversation with chris:]

    Chris Choi: http://photo.xanga.com/chrischoi/70ef5831775/photo.html
    Chris Choi: wow – i guess i do have problems with bunnies
    Joe: WOW

  • Good-bye and thanks for all the fish!

    It has been a fun and crazy year here at Xanga, but alas my time as a member of the Xanga Team has come to an end.  I’ll still be posting my blogs on Xanga, but I’ll no longer be responsible for adding new features or fixing bugs.  I’m happy to say I accomplished almost everything I wanted to work on while here at Xanga. 

    For those of you who had requested my help on various bugs and features that I didn’t get around to, I’m very sorry, but hopefully those issues will be addressed by the other engineers over the course of this next year. 

    To my co-workers, I wish the best of luck.  I can honestly say that working at Xanga has challenged me more in one year than I ever imagined possible, and that I feel like a better, more confident person for it.  I’ll miss y’all alot, and hopefully you won’t curse me too much while working with my code.  ^_^

    (Transforms and Rolls Out)

    [edit:  yes, yes... it is "so long, and thanks for all the fish", sheesh...]

  • New Feature: Comment Replies on Pulse

    Just finished themifying the pulse item page, which means comment replies on pulse!  A couple of things to note. 

    You can only reply to one person, per comment you post.  This all builds on the theory that pulses should be as minimal as possible.  (You start adding too many features, and your pulse just becomes a sad little weblog.  O_O)

    I know lots of you have been asking for automatic conversion of URLs into links – unfortunately I didn’t get around to rolling that feature out.  It’ll be in the works, but probably at a later date. 

    The maximum length of a pulse depends on how long your username is.  (and in the pulse universe, comments ARE pulses) The longer your username, the less space you’ll have available for other text.  This is all tied directly to the maximum length of a text message.  The entire pulse + username + other stuff has to fit into the text message, so if we didn’t limit the size of your message, it would be cut off when you get the pulse on your cellphone. 

    Alrighty, thats all!  Play around with your pulse and let me know if you’ve got any weird issues or bugs k?  Over and out!

  • Xanga Meet and Greet: Itinerary

    Alrighty boys and girls, the following is our approximate bar and snack schedule for the evening.
    If you’re running late, just head us off at the next location on the list – and look for the Xanga shirts. ^_^

    Date: 4/9/2008 (This Wednesday)

    Who: Any Xanga user who is over 21, and wants to meet us?

    When/Where:
    9:00 – 9:45 pm
    Grassroots Tavern. 20 St. Marks Place, New York, NY 10003

    9:45-10:15 pm
    Pommes Frites. 123 Second Ave. New York, NY 10003

    10:15-11:00 pm
    Decibel. 240 East 9th Street, New York, NY 10003

    11:00-12:30 pm
    Crif Dogs. 113 St. Marks Pl. New York, NY 10009
    [I'll try to swing a reservation for the top secret lounge inside.]
    [edit: Reservation Confirmed for 11:30!]

    Current Guest List (revised): Joseph, Michael, Natalia, Eugenia, Ben, Patrick, MoonBunny, SqueakySoul?, Konrado, Aimvpr?, WeaponG, BlueShortyx3.

    Remember, that you don’t need to be invited to come, but it’ll help us if we have an idea of who’s coming and who is not.

    Disclaimer: This dinner is not endorsed by Xanga (the company). You pay for your own food and drinks. You must be over 21 to consume alcoholic beverages. You will not hit on Ben Koh unless he hits on you first.

  • The Unofficial Xanga Dinner Club

    Like ravenous bears after the long winter months, me and my fellow Xanga employees are looking to celebrate spring by stuffing our faces. Starting this month, I’m going to organize a monthly dinner excursion in and around New York City. Why are we doing this? 1) Its a chance for us to actually eat a meal outside of the Xanga office (yes, we actually work that much) and 2) its a chance for y’all to come out and meet up with your favorite members of the Xanga team!

    Each excursion will be set in a neighborhood and will include myself and several members of the Xanga Team for a moveable feast of dinner, drinks, and snacks. Next week will be set in the St. Marks neighborhood, and will likely include a stop at Pommes Frites or Crif Dogs (but not both, as it would likely kill us). Dinner will be by invitation only, as organizing reservations for more than a small group is really hard, but drinks and snacks will proceed in bar crawl style, with the whole flock of us moving en masse from location to location.

    Guest List so far: Me, Michael, Janet, Dan, Chris Choi, Natalia, Ben Koh, Eugenia, Patrick, MoonBunny, TheBlackSpiderMan, squeakysoul, konrado, aimvpr

    Dinner
    ***
    Who: By invitation only. (but you can certainly try to convince me or a Xanga Team member to invite you. ^_^)
    When: 7:00, Wednesday, April 9th
    Where: (You’ll receive a message from me)

    Meet and Eat, bar crawl style
    ***
    Who: Open to everyone who uses Xanga, but rsvp so we can be on the look out for you.
    When: 9:00 – 12:00, Wednesday April 9th
    Where: 5 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY in front of yakitori taisho – I’ll have a more complete list and schedule up as soon as I figure out the logistics. Anyone who’s willing to help with this should message me.

    Disclaimer: This dinner is not endorsed by Xanga (the company). You pay for your own food and drinks. You must be over 21 to consume alcoholic beverages. You will not attempt to mooch for credits.